ICB4 ® IPMA Individual Competence Baseline, Version 4 – in 3 minutes

Title/definition ICB4® IPMA Individual Competence Baseline, Version 4 The basics The IPMA Individual Competence Baseline (ICB4) is the global standard for individual competences in project, progra...

Read more

The International Project Management Association (IPMA) is a leading worldwide not-for-profit project management association with more than 60 member associations. IPMA published the first official version of the ICB (Version 2.0) in 1999, with a small modification in 2001. Version 3 was published in 2007 and Version 4 in 2015.

A central concept of the ICB4 is the ‘eye of competence’, which represents the three management domains of project, programme, and portfolio management. Based on a generic model each individual has to have perspective competences that address the context of his or her project, programme or portfolio, people competences that address personal and social topics and practices competences that address the specific technical aspects for managing his or her project, programme or portfolio.

IPMA ‘eye of competence’

The ICB4 defines 29 competence elements:
• 5 Perspective competence elements
• 10 People competence elements
• 14 Practice competence elements.

Each competence element consists of a definition, the purpose, a description of the content, knowledge areas, skills and a list of related competence elements as well as a set of key competence indicators with a description and measures.

IPMA offers a four level certification programme based on the IPMA Individual Competence Baseline (ICB4): IPMA level A-D.

15 Item(s)

per page

15 Item(s)

per page

Please wait...

Added to your cart
Shop further or Process to checkout X
Shop further